inspirationimageThe Rosary is a Scripture-based prayer. It begins with the Apostles Creed, which summarizes the great mysteries of the Catholic faith. The Our Father, which introduces each mystery, is from the Gospels. The first part of the Hail Mary is the angel’s words announcing Christ’s birth and Elizabeth’s greeting to Mary. St. Pius V officially added the second part of the Hail Mary. The Mysteries of the Rosary center on the events of Christ’s life. There are four sets of Mysteries: Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious and––added by Pope John Paul II in 2002––the Luminous.

The repetition in the Rosary is meant to lead one into restful and contemplative prayer related to each Mystery. The gentle repetition of the words helps us to enter into the silence of our hearts, where Christ’s spirit dwells. The Rosary can be said privately or with a group.


Basic Rosary Guide: Perfect Praying, Everyday!

All blue, underlined words are clickable to enhance and simplify your praying experience.

Step 1: Sign of the Cross and say the Apostles Creed.
Step 2: Say the Our Father prayer.
Step 3: Say the Hail Mary prayer on each bead. It is customary to say “I offer these three Hail Mary’s for the increase in the virtues of faith, hope and charity.”
Step 4: Say Glory Be prayer. Also, here announce any prayer intentions you have.
Step 5: Announce the first Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful or Glorious Mystery corresponding to the particular day the Mysteries are to be prayed. On the same bead, say the Our Father all the while keeping hold of the bead. At this point you may read a meditation or look at a picture of the mystery that will aid in your meditation.
Step 6: On the ten small beads that follow pray ten Hail Mary’s while meditating on the First Mystery.
Step 7: Say the Glory Be Prayer followed by the Fatima Prayer.
Step 8: Announce the Second Mystery and say the Our Father.
Step 9: Second decade, while meditating on the Mystery; ten Hail Mary’s.
Step 10: Say Glory Be followed by the Fatima Prayer.
Step 11: Announce the Third Mystery and say the Our Father. Continue by repeating steps 6 thru 8 while reflecting on the Third, Fourth and Fifth Mystery.
Step 12: Say the Hail Holy Queen and Prayer after the Rosary. End with the Sign of the Cross.

The Five Joyful Mysteries

Traditionally used during the Mondays, Saturdays, and Sundays of Advent:

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

Traditionally used on the Tuesday, Friday, and Sundays of Lent:

The Five Glorious Mysteries

Traditionally used on the Wednesday and Sundays outside of Lent and Advent:

The Five Luminous Mysteries

Traditionally used on Thursdays: